A watching kettle never boils…

As I stood admiring my new horse in the sunshine this week, I suddenly heard the sound I have been looking forward to for days- the chattering of swallows. Looking up, I spotted three, swooping and diving as they inspected their old homes in the barns above our farm. I watched for quite a while; the sun was warm and the Black Mountains in the distance stood out clearly against the cloudless blue sky. Then, as quickly as they had arrived they disappeared. I walked down the hill quickly, hoping that our barns at home would also be welcoming the arrival of these amazing birds- last year the parent birds raised ten chicks; they all fledged. But I was to be disappointed. All week we have watched and listened but so far only one scout has appeared- last night, as I supped a glass of wine in the evening sunshine, a solitary swallow circled the house several times before heading off down the valley. Perhaps the cool easterly winds are holding them back…

20140420-080008.jpg

About fforestcwmbyre

Retired teacher with a love of the outdoors. I enjoy horse riding, walking and cycling, especially in the area of Hay on Wye where I live.I also run a self catering converted barn with my husband Steve. Together we also look after our family of animals, including dogs, horses, cats, sheep, hens and ducks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

